RCPC Election Fills Board Positions

Saturday, October 3, 2020

Rockridge residents cast their ballots in the Annual Meeting/Election for positions on its board of directors in September; the meeting had been rescheduled from April 2020 due to the pandemic. Candidate statements appeared in The Rockridge News and online at rockridge.org. Candidates better defined their goals and answered audience questions in a moderated Zoom Candidates' Forum.

Voting was conducted during the September 24 meeting in the BART parking lot at Shafter/Forest and continued on September 26in the Rockridge Library parking lot. Social distancing and cleanliness protocols ensured a safe voting experience.

Six candidates were elected to two-year board terms, four of them incumbents and one a former board member. In all,343 ballots were cast for 13 candidates in this contested election. Two ballots were disqualified for over-voting and seven ballots were provisional. The final tallies were: Leonora Sea 258; Robin McDonnell 173; Kirk Peterson 165; Annette Floystrup 165; David Garcia 162; Casey Farmer 156; Jennifer McElrath 151; Ken Rich 150; Barbara Dunne 143; Brian Chadwick 115; Diana Mitchell-Chavez 108; Michael Rosen 62; Brett Moyer 56.

Sea was appointed to the RCPC board in 2015, first elected in 2016, and has served as Chair since 2018. McDonnell, Garcia and Farmer, who have been serving as appointees on the board (2019-20), will be taking seats for the first time as elected directors. Floystrup was a member of the board from 1985 to 1992, and again from 2006 to 2012. Peterson is joining the board for the first time.

Congratulations to the new and returning board members!